Fake/Replica NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams Review|Why are Drugstore Brands Being Faked? (Surprise Post Bitches!!!)

(Disclaimer: I do not recommend the replica/s I showcase in this post; we do not really know the ingredients used in these products and we do not have any concrete information regarding the way these products were packaged, I review/bought them for educational purposes. If you really want to try them, then do so at your own risk.)

Photo4504

Okay, I don’t know if I already mentioned it before… But I got these. I know that  NYX is a pretty inexpensive brand; but yes it is still being replicated and counterfeited. Now before I get to the review itself; I’ll tell you why these things happen; “Why are drugstore brands being faked?” that question is probably going on in mind right now, why are brands like NYX, L.A. Girl, Sleek, Maybelline and Revlon being faked too despite them being already cheap to begin with?

These are the possible answers to your questions; The first one is: These fake products are made to target people from third world countries. People like me who lives in the Philippines, Indonesia, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia and other developing countries. Most of the people in these countries are living barely above the poverty line (I consider my family to be along the lines of Low-middle class). So most of us value whatever it is that we can save. If we can get something for cheaper we often go for that option.

Let’s put it in this perspective, KFC sells their chicken rice meals for Php100.00(Usd2.12)and Jollibee sells theirs for Php70.00(Usd1.49); even if the two prices are not that far apart from each other most people will still opt for Jollibee because it is cheaper by Php30.00 (Usd0.64). Every cent counts. The provincial minimum wage of the people who lives in the Philippines is Php345.00(Usd7.33) per day, in a month they’ll get Php10,350.00 (Usd219.79), tax is also being subtracted from that amount every month. So let’s just say that the minimum wage earner can only take home Php8,000.00-Php9,000.00…

Now, let’s say that, that person is single and lives alone; his/her rent is Php1,500.00, his/her electric bill is Php750.00 (assuming that he or she only uses a phone/laptop charger, a fluorescent lamp, and an electric fan), his/her water bill is Php500.oo and his monthly grocery budget is Php4,500.00 (Php150.00 per day). His or her personal products budget is Php500.00, let’s also say that, that person only walks from home to work so he doesn’t need any transportation budget. That person will only be left with Php250.00-Php1,250.00 to do as he/she pleases. These are only rough estimates though, and these numbers are the smallest amount I can think of for every single expenses, a little lower and this person is already starving himself or letting himself stink like a garbage can on a bad day. I didn’t include  possible emergency budget here too, like money for medicine, antiseptic, bandages etc. I also did not include internet services.

Now tell me, if you are this person; will you buy something from NYX or from Maybelline that costs as much if not more than what you earn in a day? Nope, you will not. You’ll either go cheap and buy from local brands like Ever Bilena, San san, FS Cosmetics, Fashion 21 or Nichido (which are still expensive for most people), or go for cheap Chinese products that you can get from Divisoria, you can also find some fake products in that place as well. Now, let’s face it, most people no matter how rich or poor do want to follow trends; so they buy these fake stuff and hope for the best.

The other answer is pretty simple; these brands are doing their thing really well… and these counterfeiters wants a taste of that profit as well. So they make their own shit; make it look similar to the real product and sell them for cheap.

Now let’s go to the review! The one that you came here to read. I got these lip products from the same place where I got my Anastasia Replicas, I got these first. I got both of them for only Php170.00(Usd3.61) the store had all of their lip products on sale that day; these normally sell for Php100.00 each which is very cheap compared to the Php290.00-Php350.00 that legit NYX products sells online. I got one in Zurich and one in Transylvania.

The product came with a plastic plastic wrap around it, it has a sticker that has a barcode, product code and batch code. The tubes also have a sticker on the bottom and on the lid that says the name and number of the shade.

The tubes are clear, with a solid white stopper, the wands have a doe foot applicator.

(from left to right: one coat, two coats, three coats) 

Zurich 

(left: one coat, right: two coats)

Transylvania 

(From left to right: 1 coat, 2 coats, 3 coats)

Now let’s talk about the formula. This liquid lipstick is not soft matte… it is really fucking matte, it is also smudge proof and transfer proof. It smells like vanilla cake batter, and dries and sets in 3-4 minutes. The application of both shades are different though, the pink one (Zurich) applies nicely, it only needs one coat and it’s already full pigment, the darker one (Transylvania) is very different, as you can see in both the arm and the lip swatches, it takes three coats for the damn thing to work. It is very patchy and sheer and I needed the help of this lip brush:Photo4521 to even things out; which is very problematic since you should not layer this! It crumbles very easily if layered, the longevity practically gets cut in half.

Now speaking of longevity, these lasts pretty damn well. I wore Zurich to church one night and I fell asleep as soon as I got home, I forgot to take off my makeup(which you should NEVER do! ALWAYS TAKE OFF YOUR MAKEUP before going to bed!!!!) and I was surprised to see it still intact the next morning. Though after I ate breakfast which consists of a bowl of instant noodles and a glass of water, I noticed that it broke down, but only a little bit. It is also a bitch to take off; and it is also VERY drying to the point that you could see every line on my lips..

(I am wearing a mixture of both shades on the left and Zurich on the right, I will never wear Transylvania on its own. And yes I am wearing the same shirt on both photos, but I took the two photos a week apart… -_- )

I am going to give Zurich a rating of 7.5, because it was a pretty good shade and it actually wears longer than I expected, but I cannot rate it higher than that because both shades are very drying on the lips. I rate transylvania a 6.5 because  not only is it drying; but it was also  sheer as fuck, I rated it higher than the updated rating of the fake Lime Crime Velvetines which is a 6.0 because this can actually be used for mixing, and those fake Lime Crime ones pretty much fucks up everything that you mix with them.

Overall, this product is pretty good; but it is not worth the risk… Just buy stuff from cheaper brands that can be trusted.

So that’s all for now folks, and see you all later! 😀

(If you want to learn more, ask questions and see more looks that are not posted in this blog, please visit my “facebook page”  🙂 )

Leave a Reply

