Tutorial: Glam Makeup on a Budget! :-D

Okay, here I am blogging again after I woke up… Don’t judge me I was up for 31 hours straight before I slept a while ago 🙂 so now I’m up again like a ball of energy! (just kidding I still wanna sleep. -_- It’s only 11:39 pm and I slept at like 7:45 pm-ish)

Right now, I’ll give you the step by step, steps ( 😛 ) in making/doing this makeup look that I posted on YouTube a while ago, if you want to watch (my crappy way of makeup application 😉 ) it click “here”.

I posted a video since my friend and a reader Ate (an honorific used in the Philippines for addressing your older sister, or a friend who’s older than you 😀 ) Paula, requested one. Believe it or not, I posted a video way back in December about my review on the Avon Fold-up Palette, which is Avon Philippines’ holiday palette for 2013. I since put it on private since the quality is really not good. 😦

What is this video all about? It’s about doing a glamorous makeup, but under a budget. n this video I used two very affordable brush sets, it’s up to you on which one you would prefer, since you can do this look even with just one of these brush sets, or whatever brushes that you have. It also features affordable makeup that even a student like me can afford without breaking the bank too much.

So now let’s proceed to the more detailed steps on this particular thing:

EYES: (as usual, I did my eyes first)

Step 1: Use a sticky eyeshadow base. (I used L.A. Colors wet to dry cream foundation) So why do you need to use a sticky base rather than a regular base, a white one, just a primer or nothing at all. Let’s admit it some of these cheaper eyeshadows has crazy fall-outs, but not impossible to work with. Another way of working with these shadows is by using them wet.

Step 2: Apply a bright pink shadow all-over your lid (I used the pink shadow on my San san makeup set in No. 3). I know that some girls are afraid of brights, for their eye makeup, and I know that pink specially a bright cool toned pink or hot pink is really intimidating. But trust me, if you wear it with neutrals, you can rock pink shadows even in the middle of the afternoon, not just for this glam makeup (which most will probably use for night makeup).

Step 3: Apply a neutral color, (which in my case a reddish brown by Nichido called Raisin Wine) on your crease. If you do not have a crease brush, you can apply it using a small paddle brush, and just blend it out using a blending brush.

Step 4: Blend the outer edges of the brown using a windshield wiper motion. And a little bit of circular motion and  windshield wiper motion to blend the two colors for a smoother transition. Two blocks of color on top of each other WILL look funny, so please blend them out. (Maybe in the future I will show you how to make a complete eyeshadow look using just a paddle brush and a sponge tip applicator… how does that sound? 😀 )

Step 5: Take a dark metallic color, (like San san’s Ash Gray) and use a pencil brush/ outer-v brush to map your outer corners. If you don’t have both like the person in the video (me) then use a CLEAN lip brush to do the same thing, then just blend it out thoroughly.

Step 6: Line your lower lash-line using the same dark metallic color. You can use either the same lip brush or an angled brush.

Step 7: Line your lower waterline with black pencil eyeliner. (I used my San san black kohl liner)

Step 8: A pencil eyeliner is very versatile. You can use it to up to 4 different types of usage: 1) As a lower lash-line/waterline liner, 2) To line your upper lash-line, 3) For your brows (but set it with something), 4) For lip liner. So, use the same eyeliner you used for your lower waterline to your upper lash-line. Make little dots or lines and then connect them with each other. You can also do a cat eye if you want.

Step 9: Curl your lashes, then apply generous coats of black mascara, pick a mascara that either lengthens or voulumizes, I used something for lengthening (San san Long Lash Mascara), You can use regular or waterproof, but I used waterproof since waterproof is known to hold curls better.

Step 10: (Optional) Line your upper waterline with the same liner.

Step 11: Highlight your brow bone and inner corners using a slightly shimmery white shadow (I used the white shadow on my San san makeup set in No. 3). Apply it on your brow bone using a sponge tip applicator, a small fluffy brush, or the lip brush you used for your outer corners, but please wipe it off clean first. And apply it to your inner corners using your lip brush or your fingers.

(You could use false lashes too if you have one)

 

FACE: (Before you put makeup on your face, please make sure that all of the fall-outs and oils were cleaned off your face.)

Step 1: Prime the face with a primer, to help control oils and matify the skin. (I used Beauty Treats L.A. Makeup Primer) apply little dots first then blend it out using a sponge, a brush, or your CLEAN hands.  But one of the tricks I’ve learned is to use baby powder for substitute if you do not have a primer, just apply a very thin layer evenly all-over your face before applying foundation.

Step 2: Apply your foundation (I used San san HD foundation in Olive since out of the three available shades it’s the closest to my skin tone),  first apply small/big dots all-over the face and neck. Then blend it out by using  a sponge, a brush, or your CLEAN hands.

Step 3: Blot the excess oil (Even if it says “oil free” it doesn’t mean that it doesn’t contain even a single trace of oil) on your foundation by using a tissue paper.

Step 4: Apply some concealer (I used San san HD concealer in Olive) on your problem areas (Mine are my under eye area, red cheeks nose and forehead). Blend it out using a sponge or your ring finger.

Step 5: Again blot out excess oil using tissue paper.

Step 6: Apply some powder (I used the powder on my San san makeup set in No. 3) to set the foundation. The shade will depend on the color of your foundation. If you used a foundation that is too dark, use a lighter powder, if it’s too light use a darker powder, if the foundation is right use a translucent powder or the same shade as your foundation. You can use a brush or a puff to apply the powder (put some powder on your ears too, to even the colors out).

Step 7: (I’ll put it here even though I did it after the lips in the video) Apply a very light coral shade (I used the light coral blush on my San san makeup set in No. 3) on your cheeks.

Step 8: Apply a shimmery light pink (If your skin is fair-medium, a deeper shade of pink if your skin tone is medium to dark) blush (I used the light pink blush on my San san makeup set in No. 3) on the cheekbones only.

(I didn’t do any contours because remember we are on a budget)

LIPS:

Step 1: Use a something to moisturize your lips, like a lip balm (I used my Maybelline Baby Lips in Anti-oxidant Berry), Vaseline or petroleum jelly, or any type of food grade oil like coconut oil. Just use a very small amount though.

Step 2: Use a nude (I used my San san Age Defense lipstick in number 3) or a neutral pink shade for the lips, since we want the drama and attention centered  on the eyes.

Step 3: (optional) Use a clear (I used San san Lip Color Duo in Really Red, I used the clear side of the duo), or a glittery light pink or nude lip gloss to add shine and glossiness to your lips. 🙂

 

List of Products and Prices

EYES
-L.A. Colors Wet to Dry Cream Foundation Comes with a concealer stick. -Php150.00
-San san makeup set No. 3 Eyeshadows: Pink and White. – Regular: Php200.00 I got it on sale for Php150.00
-San san CYO single eyeshadow: Ash Gray. -Php50.00 I got it on sale for Php45.00
-San san Kohl Pencil : Black – Php105.00
-San san Long Lash Waterproof Mascara- Php125.00
-Nichido Eyelash curler. -Php75.00-Php79.00
-Nichido True Color Collection Eyeshadow: Raisin Wine. – Php68:00

EYEBROWS

-Avon Simply Pretty Eyebrow Pencil: Brown. -Php89.00

FACE
-Beauty Treats L.A. Makeup Primer- Php129.00
-San san HD Liquid Foundation: Olive- Php195.00
-San san HD Concealer: Olive- Php105.00
-San san Makeup set No.3, Powder and blushes – Php200.00 got it on sale for Php150.00

LIPS:
-Maybelline Baby Lips: Anti-oxidant Berry- Php89.00
-San san Age Defense Lipstick No.3- Php118.00 warning I used a lip balm underneath and a lip gloss on top for a reason! But, I still like this lipstick though.
-San san Lip Color Duo: Really Red, I used the clear side. -Php105.00, I got it on sale for Php95.00

Brushes:
-San san 5 piece Brush set- Php150.00
-Avon Fab 5-piece Brush set with pouch- Php399.00 But I got it on sale for Php99.00. And I wrote a review about this on my blog…
-e.l.f. Professional Blending Eye Brush- Php149.00 but it’s only Php129.00 on their Philippine website)

The total price of these things: Php1,934.00 ($44.27) and that was everything. But don’t worry I didn’t bought all of these in one go. I got all of them 3-5 months to even a year apart. Some are also gifts (since I’m a very predictable person…). 😀

And please be reminded that all the products listed above are only suggestions, if you already have something similar or even a little different feel free to use them. You can use whatever you want! 😀

And I hoped that this helped or helps you in any way shape or form. And see you on Wednesday or Thursday for an Anime post. 😉 ❤

DSC_0142 (2) eyes 2

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Glam Makeup on a Budget! :-D

Leave a Reply

