Avon Limited edition Over Nature Palette Extended + San San shadows

Okay, as promised, I’m posting something for makeup, but first of all let me clarify things: 1) I’m not a beauty blogger, I just happen to like makeup, anime and talking and writing in general. I’m not a beauty blogger because in the realm of beauty, I only blog about makeup… because to me makeup is an art-form (and maybe because I’m a part-time makeup artist), and when it comes to skin care, I’m really the type of person who will be fine by only washing my face with a deep cleansing facial foam while bathing in the morning and before I go to bed and call it a morning/night skin care routine (okay, sometimes I put petroleum jelly on parts of my face).

(Disclaimer: I am in no way, shape, or form, sponsored by any of the brands I mentioned here… I paid for these stuff myself!)

So now that I made things clear let’s go to the topic at hand. 🙂 So, AVON extended the discounted sale of their Over Nature Collection (at least the makeup) for another 15 days. It is still on the brochure from  June 16-30, this is for the Philippines, since I do not have any idea whatsoever if they have the same collection all-over the world right now. The eight shades of lipsticks are still available (and I know I will try to get more), as well as the palette. And if you want to read my full first impression/unboxing of it click “here”.

DSC_0350

So now here is the update. Yes I still recommend the lipstick, I’ve worn it a lot of times and it still hasn’t failed me. I still love it, I still think it’s worth it. It lasted me a whole five hours without fading (despite putting lipgloss on top of it), until I ate 6 pieces of siomai and drank coke. 😉 And for the palette, I still have the same opinion, and up to now I could only think of five looks to do using it. 😦

And now I introduce you to a new topic, I introduce you to my three San San eyeshadows.

Here are the swatches

DSC_0080 (2)

They look nice don’t they. 😉

So here they are, these are the San San Create Your Own single eyeshadows. They’ve been out in the market for sometime now, I just bought them last February. They were sold in all HBC (Home of Beauty Exclusives) Nationwide, and they retail for Php50.00 ($1.14) each. I got my first got my hands on one (The gold one) as a freebie when I exceeded the amount of Php500.00 ($11.40) (I exceeded it by Php329.00(Usd7.52) which I already considered a huge splurge) during a visit to the local HBC store, and the other two, I got when I went to buy a brown kohl pencil (sadly it’s unavailable) at the same month, and I was lucky that the store was having a sale; I got them both for Php45.00 each.

The pans were huge too! Bigger than a Php5.00 coin which is the most common pan size here. They were about the size of a Sugarpill single eyeshadow and weigh approx. 4-5 grams.

There are 20 shades available, 15 shimmers/metallic/pearl finish, and 5 mattes. I got three shimmers since mattes were sold out.

I’m telling you the quality of these little b*tch*s far exceeds the value of their price tag. These babies are pigmented and glides on smoothly, All are of great quality, as you can see from the swatches. They are also very, very soft (The gold was harder than the two others though).

Here are the shades

1) Blueberry Pop- Is a metallic baby blue color.

Form: Pressed powder

Texture: Soft, creamy

Depotable: Yes, but be careful, since the eyeshadow is really soft, it can break apart while you’re doing your business. (But nothing a drop or three of isopropyl alcohol won’t fix 😉 )

Fall-out: Yes, a sh*tload if you’re not careful, But using a sticky base before applying or using your fingers or a sponge tip applicator for application will prevent fall-out from happening, or you can use it wet, or just do your eye makeup first before your foundation. 🙂

How I use it: I apply it with a paddle eyeshadow brush over a sticky base. I always do my eyes first, before my face.

Closed

DSC_0081 (2)

Open

DSC_0082 (2)

Back

DSC_0083 (2)

2) Golden Chiffon- Is a yellowish gold color, with a metallic finish.

Form: Pressed powder

Texture: Harder than the other two colors. It applies smoothly though.

Depotable: Yes, since it’s harder you can depot this baby easily, even without heat (they don’t put a lot of glue on the containers). The the pan is hard too which is a plus. 🙂

Fall-out: Yes, but not a lot compared to the soft ones. 🙂

How I use it: I rarely use it on my lid, but it;s really great for inner corner highlight. You can also use it wet.

close

DSC_0084 (2)

open

DSC_0085 (2)

back

DSC_0086 (2)

3) Ash Gray- Is a metallic dark gray, a little bit more on the black side than white.

Form: Pressed powder

Texture: Soft, creamy, even softer than Blueberry Pop

Depotable: Yes, but be careful, since the eyeshadow is really, really soft, it can break apart while you’re doing your business, Mine broke into half once, as in a huge chunk broke off, I salvaged almost everything and pressed it back with alcohol. 😀

Fall-out: Yes, a sh*tload if you’re not careful, But using a sticky base before applying or using your fingers or a sponge tip applicator for application will prevent fall-out from happening, or you can use it wet, or just do your eye makeup first before your foundation. 🙂

How I use it: I apply it with my middle finger if I’m in a hurry and do not want to make a lot of effort. But If I have the time I apply it with my paddle eyeshadow brush over a sticky base.

close

DSC_0087 (2)

open

DSC_0088 (2)

back

DSC_0089 (2)

Pros and cons

  • Pros
  1. Very pigmented
  2. Budget friendly
  3. Very compact
  4. Great quality
  5. Easy to use
  6. Could be applied in a lot of ways
  7. The top is clear so you can see the colors without opening
  8. Very true to color, you don’t need to do a lot before you get the color in the pan.
  9. They are long lasting.
  • Cons
  1. Has a sh*tload of fall-out if you’re not careful, a few if you are.
  2. Packaging looks cheap (Well the price is cheap, so what do you expect).

Rating per eyeshadow

Blueberry Pop

Quality: 10/10

Packaging: Aesthetically Pleasing: 5/10, Practicality: 9/10, total:  7/10

Price: 10/10

Overall: 9/10

Golden Chiffon

Quality: 8/10

Packaging: Aesthetically Pleasing: 5/10, Practicality: 9/10, total:  7/10

Price: 10/10

Overall: 8.3/10

Ash Gray

Quality: 9/10

Packaging: Aesthetically Pleasing: 5/10, Practicality: 9/10, total:  7/10

Price 10/10

Overall: 8.7/10

So far, this is the highest rated eyeshadow rate that I’ve given in this blog. I think I”m going to get more one of these days… 🙂

Like I said these babies are available in all HBC stores in the Philippines, but if you’re from overseas you might get them “Here!”

Here are some looks I made, using a shade or two from the eyeshadows above:

DSC_0053  DSC_0054

Here I used Ash Gray on my lower lash line and the outer corners.

DSC_0019 (3) DSC_0020 (3)

Here I used Blueberry Pop for the lid and lower lash line, and I used Golden Chiffon for the inner corners.

DSC_0017 (2)  DSC_0018 (2)

Here I used Golden Chiffon on the lids.

So that is that for now folks, see you later. 😛 ❤

Leave a Reply

