Anime = Immaturity? Nah.

Okay, just to make things clear… I like anime. Well that’s an understatement because I f*ck*ng LOVE Anime! I have since I was three (since both of parents are a huge fan of Yu yu Hakusho (ghost fighters) and Slam Dunk), before I even know that anime was called anime.

Then my dilemma came when I was in high school (12-15 years-old), when most of my friends are talking about the latest drama in T.V., gossips about their favorite actors and actresses, the recent sex scandals of stars and what not; and there I was sitting in a corner alone (If my other friend who likes anime is absent).

Then one of classmates came up to me while I was drawing an anime character (Daisuke from D.N Angel) and said “Ang tanda-tanda  mo na nagdra-drawing ka pa ng ganyan. Para kang bata.” which roughly translates to “Your already too old to draw something like that. You’re so childish.”

Uh, dude I’m sorry that you think of me as childish because I like anime… But that is my thing, your thing is watching very young teenagers get prego (Katorse, an afternoon telenovella, which the story revolves around a fourteen year-old girl who got pregnant) mine is anime, I’m not judging you for your preference , so don’t judge me.

But what you don’t know is that there are anime with mature contents like gore, sex and other stuff.

Here are some examples of psychological/gore anime, it’s up to you if you want to watch these stuff.

  • Hellsing
  • Elfen Lied
  • Higurashi no naku koro ni

I personally like all of those series… call me psycho or whatever. But Alucard is cool.

So here are some genres that I like:

  • Shonen- series like Naruto, Claymore, and the like catered towards young boys.
  • Seinen- catered towards men aged 17-40 (Hellsing, berserk, Attack on Titan manga (This sh*t is not for kids, dude.)
  • Yaoi- Homosexual relationships between men.
  • Yuri-      ”                         ”                         ”               women. (I’m lazy)
  • Shoujo- Not really a big fan but I like Clamp works and super gals.
  • Magical girl
  • Ecchi
  • Harem- (mostly in Yaoi, or Yuri)

Now who says that Anime is only for kids? Sometimes, anime even has more story than your average T.V. series. You’ll even get a lot of good values from anime.

2 thoughts on “Anime = Immaturity? Nah.

  1. Great post! And don’t forget that many Hollywood blockbusters are inspired by anime, most notably Inception which starred Leonardo Di Caprio. This movie heavily took inspiration from the anime film, Paprika.

    I’m proud to say that I love anime & manga, as much as I love novels. There are fantastic stories in anime that aren’t found anywhere else. Well done on this post. Don’t mind those people who tell you that anime is “pambata”. They clearly don’t know what they’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

